Governance within a multi-academy trust

Minerva Primary Academy is part of the Cabot Learning Federation, a multi-academy trust that is responsible for a number of academies across Bristol, South Gloucestershire and North Somerset.  Governance for a multi-academy trust operates at two levels.  At trust level, there is a Board of Directors.  The directors are accountable to the Department for Education and external government agencies, including the Charity Commission, for the quality of the education the trust provides and the effective use of the associated academy funding. They are required to have systems in place through which they can assure themselves of quality, financial probity, safety and good practice. The Board is provided assurance on a number of these areas through various sub-committees, as shown in the diagram below. For further information about the Board, please click on:

At a local level, each academy has an Academy Council comprising of up to 13 Academy Councillors.  Academy Councils are responsible for holding Principals and their leadership teams to account for the quality and effectiveness of the academic experience of the students under their care with the aim of securing effective school improvement.  They do this through monitoring performance against an annual academy improvement plan, through monitoring risks and responses to risks, and by overseeing systems and processes for the safeguarding of children and the health, safety and wellbeing of academy staff.

The chair of our Academy Council is Nicky McCallister and can be contacted via email at

Here are the names of our Academy Councillors at Minerva Primary Academy:

Bridget Suitters – Chair of Academy Council

My name is Bridget Suitters. I have worked in social care for over 15 years working with both children and adults at risk. I have been involved with the school for about 5 years as a governor and latterly as an Academy Councillor.

Hannah Ward
Pete Franklin

When my daughter was at school, I wanted to ensure that the learning environment was the best it could be.  I became passionate about ensuring all children had the best possible start in life and the opportunity to achieve their best.

Lily Wright

I am currently a year 2 teacher, assistant Maths lead, Computing and E-safety lead. In the near future, I would like to become a senior leader therefore I felt this was a great opportunity to play a role in the strategic direction of the school and to support/challenge the leadership team. Additionally, it is a chance for me to have whole school impact by collecting and presenting pupil voice which is part of school improvement.

Anna Keen

I am one of the local Bristol City Councillors for Hillfields and also a primary school teacher. Locally I’m involved in various community groups and I am trustee of Hillfields Community Trust. I have been an Academy Councillor since November 2016.

Thareem Naz
Shuyara Chowdrey

I wanted to understand the decisions made for the school and what the impact is on the pupils.

Jennifer Harvey

I am currently the Vice Principal at Minerva Primary Academy and my role within the academy council is to represent the views of the staff. I am a teacher with 18 years’ experience and am passionate about high quality first teaching and learning for all pupils. Outside of school I enjoy spending time with my family, cycling and baking.

Donna Goodhind

CLF Delegated Authority Framework

Here is the link to the CLF Delegated Authority Framework